South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust logo

Welcome to SWASFT

Welcome to Our Board

The Board is accountable for our vision, strategy, the way we run our services and spend money. We have a unitary made up of 15 Board Members which includes 6 Executive Directors, 8 Non-Executive Directors and 1 Associate Non-Executive Director. 

Meet the Board:

  • Chief Executive - Will Warrender
  • Trust Chair - Stephen Otter
  • Executive Directors - Tim Bishop, Andrew Rosser, Jessica Cunningham, Amy Beet, Jane Chandler and Will Warrender.
  • Non-Executive Directors - Martin Holloway (Senior Independent Director), Margaret Batty,  Minesh Khashu, Maggie Arnold, Chris Perry and Gail Bragg
  • Associate Non-Executive Director - Matthew Hayman.

To view the Boards profiles please click here (please note these profiles are currently being updated)

Executive Directors 

Our Executive Directors are responsible for the operational management of the Trust. They are a part of the Board as well as being employees of the Trust. They are lead by the Chief Executive. 

Non-Executive Directors 

Non-Executive Directors make sure the Board acts in the interests of our patients and community. They are members of the public and they're appointed for a set period of time for their skills and experience.

Trust Chairman

The Trust Chair is one of the Non-Executive Directors and undertakes a dual role as Chair of the Board of Directors as well as the Council of Governors. This means that the Chair is responsible for leading both the Board and the Council of Governors to ensure that they are working together effectively.

The Board also include the Deputy Chair who deputises for the Chair when appropriate and a Senior Independent Director (SID) who is appointed by the Board made in consultation with the Council of Governors. The SID should act as the point of contact with the Board of Directors if Governors have concerns which approaches through normal channels have failed to resolve or for which such approaches are inappropriate. The SID may also act as the point of contact with the Board for Governors when they discuss for example the Chair's performance.

The Board works closely with our Council of Governors who represents the views of our local community.

Contacting the Board 

All Board members may be contacted via the Interim Trust Secretary through or the Trust Secretary, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust, Abbey Court, Eagle Way, Exeter, EX2 7HY.

South Western Ambulance Charity logo

South Western Ambulance Charity

The South Western Ambulance Charity, founded in 1995, uses gifted monies to benefit those in our communities who use our service and to improve the welfare of the staff and volunteers of the South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust. 

Our charitable support covers Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire including Bristol and Swindon.

If you would like to show your appreciation for the care that you or your loved one has received from us in the form of a charitable donation please visit our online giving website: Donate to South Western Ambulance Charity | Give as you Live Donate